Saturn and Endings … for my ‘Papa’

frau von elm-dings

My dad died about 3 weeks ago. He had been ill for some years, after surviving tongue-cancer in 2005, he was diagnosed with COPD. But he was unable to quit smoking. And so, on a warm evening in July, a beautiful sunset glowing outside his hospital window, he closed his eyes forever while his 2nd wife Nina and I were holding his hands.

When I arrived, the man lying in that ‘intensive care’ bedroom only barely resembled the one I had visited (in the same room) just 2 days ago. Who was curious to see my new tattoo and insisted that I showed it to the (also tattoed) nurse that entered. Who sang ‘I can’t get no …’ when I said, that I had tickets for the Stones in autumn and told me, that he saw them at the famous Berlin Waldbühne gig back in the 60s…

But now he…

View original post 373 more words

Leave a Reply

