July 29, 2017: My Obligatory Eclipse Post – GET TO TOTALITY!

Hmmm.

Light-Polluted Astronomy

As you must know by now unless you’ve been living under a rock or in a cave (say hi to Plato for me!), all of North America will be in the path of a solar eclipse on Monday, August 21, 2017, just three weeks from now.  An approximately 80-mile-wide swath extending clear across the continent, from Oregon to South Carolina, will experience totality, while the rest of the continent will experience varying degrees of a partial eclipse, depending on how far you are from that swath.

I haven’t really addressed the eclipse here in the blog since everyone and their brother has already posted all sorts of useful information all over the web about it.  I’m not going to repeat any of that, because it’s all been said already.  So I will keep this very short and sweet.

Before I go on, yes, be safe, do not look directly at…

View original post 607 more words

