Beyond the Limitations of a Post-It Note™ Brain

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

 

TIME Perception is a factor of Awareness

The more conscious the process,
the longer it seems to take

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Reflections post from the Time & Task Management Series
Part THREE (Part I HEREPart II HERE)

FreeClipart.net

According to Dr. David Eagleman, we humans are more than passive observers where time is concerned. And he should know. The author of Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain, has studied Time perception for well over a decade.

According to his research, we are not merely watching the river of time flow by as if time happened TO us, or we happened IN time. Science is learning that our brains are actively constructing time.

Re-engineering Brain Resources

In Eagleman’s words, It turns out that it has everything to do with novelty, and with how much energy your brain has…

View original post 2,795 more words

6 thoughts on “Beyond the Limitations of a Post-It Note™ Brain

    1. Grandtrines Post author

      Well, it has two benefits. As long as the information is not time sensitive (e.g. it is the astrology post for TODAY), then (1) it breathes life into older material that may be still quite valuable, exposing it to a new audience and (2) prevents my reblogs from potentially competing with your newer material. (Readers can see the older material then come to your site and see the newer material as well.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

        How well thought out and extremely considerate of you! I have been threatening to repost all my earlier articles, since I have a great many new readers since I first published them – but I have NO idea what that will do to whatever Google thinks about my blog, so I have been staying my hand for the most part – so far!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Grandtrines Post author

        How much of your traffic comes from Google? (Most of mine comes from other WordPress users. That has been true for years. The people who get the Google traffic are paying for Adwords… …why do you think Google has so much influence and money?)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

        GOOD point – when I was one of the earliest ADD sites on the web (way back when on another domain), almost all my traffic came from search engines. But you are absolutely right – most of my traffic on ADDandSoMuchMORE comes from other WordPress users. THANKS!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Grandtrines Post author

        You don’t make page one of Google anymore without buying Adwords. And not so many users dig down into Page 2 and beyond. I do get SOME users from Google, but when I run the searches based on the keywords reported by WP I am 2 or 3 pages down. People like Astrology King are near the top. My guess is that they have a full time staff writing for the site and doing SEO. I do not have the resources to do that nor do I want to go that direction. I have read too many others who have talked about having 100,000 visitors per year, or more, without making a single dime out of the site. Ad revenue is based “per 10,000 impressions.” I wrote a piece on this. Did you read it? https://stillanotherwritersblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/03/it-is-too-bad-for-the-wood-which-finds-itself-a-violin/

        Like

Comments are closed.